Do You Know That Google Drive Now Warns You When You’Re About To Open a Suspicious File

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Some Google Drive customers may be familiar with various types of assaults, such as phishing lures and ransomware attacks, that are transmitted through the site. Google has added a new security tool to Drive to help you stay on top of potentially harmful files.

When you are ready to download and access a potentially dangerous document, image, or other file, Google Drive will now display a warning banner. All Google Workspace, G Suite Basic, and G Suite Business tiers are getting the new feature.

Google Drive Security Warning
CREDIT: GOOGLE

After you click on a link, a yellow banner appears at the top of the attachment page. It should appear before you download a file to your laptop, telling you that it appears suspicious and “may be used to steal your personal information.”

READ ALSO: Google TV update adds option to manually clear out ‘Continue watching’ row

If you’ve been using Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, or Drawings, you’ll recognize the security notice. Google revealed new security measures to help protect users from harmful files at Cloud Next 2021. Late last year, these alerts were handed out to those file syncing services.

It’ll come in handy if you frequently use Google Drive, which, like most other file hosting platforms, isn’t immune to abuse. Scammers were discovered using Drive in 2020 to send out emails and push notifications. At first sight, the communications appeared to be authentic, but they led users to fraudulent websites.

The new Drive security alert will not be available to everyone right once, as with any other staggered release, but it should be available within the next two weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: